384 – Earth and water elements

The universe is composed of five elements and so is our self. The five elements are ether, air, fire, water and earth. Why is there so much unhappiness in the cosmos?

Our first element is earth, and it is what composes us. Earth is our grounding and it is accompanied by the mooladhara chakra. The mooladhara chakra is the first chakra which is awakened in the fetus. It has a direct connection to the mother. After twelve weeks, it becomes independent of its mother’s prana. It is written in the ancient books that an expectant mother should be always happy and given whatever she asks for. Nobody should harm or distress her.

The reason is that then the environment in the womb is light with prana and the fetus remains a joyous fetus. The earth element and the mooladhara chakra work on our basic needs. Our essential requirements physiological, safety, love and belonging are there. Each one of us as an infant has to be fed, and held. Then there are other needs, which are shelter, and grounding. Look around you, all these requirements are essential and mother earth supplies them literally and mentally.

Water is the next element, and it affects our sexuality, survival, and creativity. It is connected to the swadhishthana chakra, and water is known for its instability. Here again we are working on our fantasy, imagination, awareness and ingenuity. Stability enables us to be secure, empowered and awake. Our creativity is motivated by our attentiveness and we are not unconscious of its progress.

The devi in her three forms

Water and earth elements play a very important role in the observance of Navaratri. Both these elements are our basic tattwas and their purification grants us freedom from tamas and rajas. And in the final days we become pure (sattwic). The Goddess appeared on the banks of the Ganga, and on the earth, she had the fiercest battle which was in the duration of Navratri. Devi in her three forms, destroyed the evil in the universe. Our take away is we have to work on our insecurities, and fantasies and not let them corrode our thoughts and behavior.

In this time or any other time, we must examine ourselves and observe how we can change ourselves. These nine nights of Navratri are very auspicious and we can start by being self-aware and practice self-observation. It does not mean that we only practice the sadhana at this time and forget about it for the rest of the year.

Aim Hrim Klim

Photo by Thom Holmes on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *