699 – We are blessed with many mothers

A mother in Hinduism is one’s first Guru. She nurtures and enables one to be a spiritual human being. Each Guru acknowledges his mother. The Mother Goddess has many forms, and they are all addressed as Mother.

All of us have numerous memories of our mothers. Mothers are a special class, and one is aware that they are always there for us. We are often mad with them, their overly concern, their unreasonableness, their didactic behavior. The list can become long. Their best rejoinder is, “Wait, till you become a mum.” I remember my mother telling me that I drank too much strong coffee (two cups a day) and wore eye makeup (simple eyeliner). Logic was that coffee would give me black circles under my eyes and eyeliner would give me wrinkles.

Pure Hearts

Now I am going to share with you the number of mums, we really have. We are truly blessed as they look out for us. Their only given is to have a pure heart. A pure heart means, malice towards none, good will to all and honesty. Being mothers, they forgive readily and overlook irresponsible behavior. Ma Durga has nine forms and Goddess Shakti is personified as Uma, the consort of Shiva, or Kali or Durga has seven forms. You can all count!!

Nine forms of Durga

The nine forms of Ma Durga are referred to as the nine mothers. The nine manifestations are there to protect and enable us. Sailaputri, is the goddess of the Mooladhara Chakra. She stands for strength and power. Brahmacharini is the goddess of wisdom, intelligence, enlightenment, faith, honesty, and purity in devotion. Chandaghanta is the goddess for courage, resolution, righteousness, and fearlessness. Kushmanda is the goddess for abundance in every aspect. She is the smiling goddess.

Skanda Mata is the mother goddess, who guards her children against evil and demons. Katyayani is the goddess, who purifies her devotees and banishes evil energy. Kalaratri is the goddess, who transforms her devotees. She is the destroyer of ghosts, demons and spirits. She is also the crown chakra Goddess. Mahagauri is the goddess, who provides her followers with sustenance, vitality, harmony and motherhood. Siddhidaatri is the goddess with tremendous spiritual and meditation abilities. She grants mental stability.

Seven forms of Mother

Now we come to the seven forms of Mother. They are called Saptamatrika and are incarnations of Goddess Shakti. They are Brahmi, Maheshwari, Kaumari, Vaishnavi, Varahi, Indrani and Chamundeshwari. They are benevolent and they protect the fetus and little children. They are compassionate and caring. They are dressed in shining jewels and wear circular earrings. Brahmani’s mount is a swan. Maheshwari mount is a bull. Kaumari’ mount is a peacock. Vaishnavi’s mount is the Eagle. Varahi’s mount is an elephant. Indrani’s mount is also an elephant. Chamundeshwari’s mount is an eagle.

Brahmi represents the mooladhara chakra. Maheshwari, Kaumari, Vaishnavi and Indrani represent the five middle chakras. They embody the five rungs of the ladder towards freedom. As one moves from one Matrika to the next, the path is heading to liberation. Kali or Chamunda is known as the highest chakra.

Mother Durga only wants us to be compassionate and empathetic.

Aim Hrim Klim


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *