493 – The fruits of our deeds

What are the fruits of our actions? They are called the fruits of the Holy Spirit. They are listed as charity, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, chastity. The tradition of the Church lists twelve of them.

Let us examine each one of the fruits.

What is charity? Charity is defined as kindness to other people. Do we apply it in our daily life? Do we take pleasure in hurting or insulting others?

What is joy? Joy is an expression which is applied to our elation for ourselves, a person, happening or experience. Joy is also bliss when we pray, with an unfettered mind and feel the ecstasy.

What is peace? Peace means stability and harmony. Peace is possible when we are not involved with our thoughts.

What is patience? Patience means endurance, persistence and forbearance. Practicing patience enables us to attain equanimity. Patience is called a virtue.

What is kindness? Kindness means being gentle and compassionate. Are we applying it in our daily interactions?

What is goodness? Goodness is when one is altruistic.

What is generosity? Generosity is best defined as openhandedness.

What is gentleness? Gentleness is described as kindness and tenderness.

What is faithfulness? Faithfulness is loyalty and duty.

What is modesty? Modesty is being in a state of simplicity and propriety.

What is self-control? Self-control means self-restraint.

What is chastity? Chastity is to practice abstinence and purity.

What is the similarity here? If we practice love, serve and give, we attain these fruits.

Aim Hrim Klim


Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *