737 – What do gunas represent in Gods

The trishul in Shiva’s right hand represents the three Gunas – Sattva, Rajas and Tamas. It is his emblem of sovereignty. He rules the universe through these three gunas. The damaru in his left hand represents the Sabda Brahmin (transcendental sound).

Vishnu’s is the lord of sattva.
Brahma is the lord of Rajas.
Devi is Trigunatmika.

Maya is made up of sattva, rajas and tamas. These are three powers in Maya; the power of hiding the reality (avarnasakti), the power of projecting what is not real (vikshepasakti), the power of jnana (jnanasakti). The first two are the causes of bondage and the third leads to liberation.

Now let us look at ourselves

Mooladhara chakra represents the Tamas, and the earth element. It works with our unconscious mind, where deep rooted instincts and fears remain hidden. By meditating on the Bija mantra Lam, we can become grounded and break free from our doubts.

Swadhishthana represents one’s own abode. It is the repository of all our dormant samskaras. These samskaras create a blockage. It represents the water element. It is also connected to tamas. It is related to excess and creativity. Chanting the Bija mantra, Vam, one can develop a resilience and strong will power.

Manipura represents the fire element and is associated with Rajas. It represents our activity, vitality and ambition. Chanting the Bija mantra Ram, one becomes free of ego.

Anahata represents the heart center, and it is associated with the air element. It represents rajas. Development of Anahata leads to relationships and pure love. The Bija mantra is Yam.

Vishuddhi represents ether and is associated with sattva. The Bija mantra is Ham, and it works on the space within us.

Ajna represents the guru chakra and is associated with sattva. One develops intuition and neutrality, and the mantra is Om.

Tamas represent earth, and earth is pure and uncontaminated. When we become aware of our slothful nature, it is possible to overcome it.
Rajas represents fire and fire can be healing and corrosive.
Sattva means awareness and consciousness.

Gunas are a quality and therefore we have to accept that we all have the three gunas in us. In the day the balance keeps shifting.

Practice breath awareness

We can understand our gunas if we practice breath awareness, with clearing our Ida and Pingala nadi. When this happens our Sushumna will flow. One just has to practice Ida Shuddhi 54 times, counting backwards and visualizing the breath flowing in and out of the left nostril. Then Pingala Shuddhi, visualizing the breath flowing in and out of the right nostril 54 times. Lastly practice triangular breathing, visualizing the breath flowing in through both nostrils, meeting at the eyebrow center and then descending through both nostrils. Practice 108 times.

I can only say, my dear ones that by enabling the prana to flow, we can progress on the sattvic path.

Aim Hrim Klim


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *