233 – Devi in the hindu tradition

The Goddess has been worshipped in the vedic and tantric traditions in numerous forms. Thousands of goddesses exist in India, all manifestations and symbols of one energy and power. As Durga, she is the remover of obstacles, as Kali, the destroyer of time and annihilator of the ego. As Lakshmi, she is the granter of wisdom and knowledge. As Saraswati, she is the granter of wisdom and knowledge. As Tara, she is the guiding light. As Jagdamba, she is the mother of the universe.

According to Tantra, Matri Shakti or mother energy is the first creator. She is known as Devi, Shakti, or the primordial energy. When energy is liberated from matter, it is called Moksha. In the Shakta tradition, it is believed that Shakti is the nucleus of all matter. She is the core, within us. In the Shaiva tradition, Shiva is on the right and Shakti is on the left. In the Shakta tradition, Shakti stands with one leg on Shiva, who sleeps. She is seen as the sole power in the body at mooladhara chakra. She is the basis of everything in creation.

The trinities

In the Shakta and vedic tradition, there is a female trinity and a male trinity. The female trinity is Kali, Lakshmi and Saraswati. These three goddesses represent the three levels of awakening within us. They were created by Adi Shakti from whom all forms of God have sprung. Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwara were created by that Mother who has no birth, no beginning and no end.

We are the children of the Mother and it is said that God is our mother and therefore our father also (Tvameva maataa cha pitaa tvameva).

Let us collectively bow our head and pray to save Mother Earth. Let us become ecologically aware, save water, save the rain forests, reduce conspicuous consumption, and love our fellow creatures. Breathe in prana in your breath and breathe out negativity.

Reference: Swami Satyananda Saraswati. 2008.

Aim Hrim Klim


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *