840 – Three levels of self-understanding

The Bhagavad Gita talks about three levels of understanding ourselves.

The first is knowing what one is supposed to do (Swadharma). Swadharma is a term from sva: proper and dharma: law, duty in Hinduism. According to the Gita, Swadharma is to act in harmony with one’s inborn nature for oneself and society. Continue reading

698 – Isomorphism and awakening our Kundalini

Isomorphism means similarity in its simplest meaning. There is similarity between the macro cosmos (universe) and the microcosmos which is the human organism. Yoga Darsana Upanishad (4.48—53) describes this. The eternal (sacred) tirtha (sacred ford, holy water, place of pilgrimage) is considered inferior to the sacred tirtha in the body, and external mountains and other places identified with the various parts of the organism. Continue reading

365 – See yourself

Across the steppingstones of Self-control,
On the banks of the God-intoxicated river,
Where flow the waves of compassion dance,
Strip yourself naked,
And plunge deep into the purifying current!
Only then will the Soul be cleansed
Of the effects of the manifest world.

Swami Niranjanananda Saraswati

Aim Hrim Klim

Photo by David Izquierdo on Unsplash